My version of a peri peri salt mix…

I love seeing these layers of spices prior to shaking it up

I wanted to make a version of a well known peri peri salt/shaker/mix without the sugar and salt (I know that sounds odd, but I want the flavour but not the salt) that’s in the original. I did some research and playing and this is what I came up with, and it works really well!

Mixed and ready to test

I made a big jar full, hence the large quantities. Swap the tablespoons for teaspoons if you want to make a smaller amount.

Recipe:

• 4 tbsp onion granules

• 4 tbsp garlic powder/granules

• 2 tbsp brewers yeast granules

• 2 tbsp black pepper

• 4 tbsp sweet paprika

• 4 tbsp smoked paprika

• 2 tbsp dried parsley

• 4 tbsp ground coriander

• 2 tbsp oregano

• 6 tbsp Aleppo chilli flakes

• 2 tbsp ground roasted cumin

• 2 tbsp cinnamon

Shake it all up!

Notes: The brewers yeast replaces salt, the cinnamon and sweet paprika replace the sugar. You can add more heat, or use cayenne powder instead of the Aleppo chilli flakes I used (I wouldn’t swap them 1:1 though!)

Perfect as a condiment to sprinkle over a meal or as a spice mix to add as you cook a dish. I’ve added it to pretty much everything and I love it, I now need to make more 😁😁

2 thoughts on “My version of a peri peri salt mix…

Let me know what you think..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.