Cracked siyez, courgettes, herb and dukkah salad…

This was another big bowl of salad, made with whatever I found in my fridge and cupboards. I ate it warm once it was made, then finished it off cold the next day.

As always with my salads, the bowl is full of layers of flavours and textures, this one is made up of the following, listed in the layers as I added them to the bowl. No exact measurements I’m afraid but hopefully it provides some inspiration for a lovely salad:

Cracked siyez, cooked my way (if you don’t have siyez, use any grain of your choice)

Roasted sliced courgettes and garlic

Chopped fresh parsley and coriander

Dukkah (see below)

Toasted pine nuts

Dried barberries

My dukkah was made up of the following, nothing was measured, but I’ve listed the ingredients from the biggest amount to the smallest:

Roasted hazelnuts

Toasted sesame seeds

Roasted ground cumin and coriander seeds

Salt

Add all to a blender and whizz to a crunchy crumb

Let me know what you think..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.