Falafels cooked in a aebelskiver/poffertjes pan..

I’ve made falafels many times before, always oven baked because I could just never bring myself to fry them! I’ve also seen posts from people using a poffertjes pan to cook falafels, and other patties and Indian cutlets, and decided it was time for me to finally treat myself to one.

For me, I remember this type of pan from my childhood for making mini Dutch pancakes ‘poffertjes’, but to you it may be an aebelskiver pan, used for making similar Danish goodies. It makes total sense to use them for cooking falafels or patties on a hob/stove with minimal oil. You can see below the tiny drops of oil in each hollow which proved to be a perfect amount…

I used it for the first time today for falafels and I will definitely use it again for these and other concoctions. 

The recipe I’m sharing below is a pretty standard falafel recipe, it is simple to play with it and create your own versions however. Today I threw together chickpeas, spring onions, garlic, dried herbs, spices, chickpea flour and lemon juice and it worked a treat! I got in there with my hands and started making little balls of mix which I flattened slightly in preparation to cook them. 

I have to tell you – I didn’t weigh or measure anything and I produced the perfect number of patties for the pan by pure luck….or sheer fluke!!!

Ingredients

250g dried chickpeas, placed in a large bowl of water and soaked overnight
1 medium red onion, peeled and roughly chopped
2-3 garlic cloves, peeled
1 bunch flat leaf parsley
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 cayenne pepper (optional)
Juice of 1 lemon
Salt to taste
Flour of your choice as needed – I used chickpea flour, but it can be any flour 
Some people also add half a teaspoon of baking powder, I didn’t this time


Method

Wash and drain the chickpeas
Put everything EXCEPT the flour in a blender and chop to a chunky crumb, then put it all into a large bowl
Add enough flour to bring the mixture together in your hands, then create small balls of the mix and flatten them slightly to make the falafel shape 
Put your poffertjes pan over a low/medium heat and place a small amount of oil in each dip and allow it to heat up briefly
Place a falafel in each dip and cook for about 15 minutes depending on the size and the heat your using, I kept checking mine and moving the pan around as it doesn’t sit evenly over the gas on the hob/stove 

I served mine on freshly made homous as is traditional, I highly recommend it! 

I’m taking my falafels to this week’s Fiesta Friday, co hosted this week by the lovely Jhuls and Antonia

42 thoughts on “Falafels cooked in a aebelskiver/poffertjes pan..

  1. Eha

    How stupid can one be!! Loving Middle-Eastern and Egyptian food, of course I make falafel . . . Being N European born, of course I have the pan: two methinks, hidden somewhere behind other pots and pans! Have I put the two together . . . .well . . . no . . . but shalln saying rude words to myslef 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Antonia

    I absolutely love falafel! What a great idea, I have one of those pans too. I will have to try this out. Thank you for bringing your delicious falafels to the party! Happy Fiesta Friday! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Jhuls

    Ahhhh, these are so delicious!! What a lovely way to use that pretty pan to make falafels, Elaine. I haven’t had falafels in a long time and your post got me craving for them. 😀 Thank you for sharing and happy Fiesta Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Pingback: YOU SAY EBELSKIVER, I SAY FALAFEL | Bewitching Kitchen

  5. skd

    Thanks for sharing this healthier version of Falafel Elaine. I have been wanting to make try them for my family but they are all avoiding deep fried foods. So this recipe is a must try. Happy holidays
    Regards
    Ana

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.