What would you feed me….Marisa?

 
This week I am very happy to bring you another lovely recipe from another lovely blogger: Marisa from Miss Marzipan. Marisa and I share many beliefs and tastes when it comes to real, tasty, healthy homemade food; her recipes and photos are always fabulous, and I regularly drool over her food shots on Instagram. You may assume that a blog with marzipan in the name would be packed full of sweets and cakes, but Marisa has embraced the I Quit Sugar programme during the last year and has shared her journey, discoveries and dishes with her readers – she’s an inspirion, sharing many great looking recipes. 

So, Marisa, what would you feed me?  

 

Hi everyone! And thanks so much for having me, Elaine! It’s wonderful to be here in your inspirational space and to have the opportunity to slot this humble creation in amongst all your amazing veg masterpieces! 

For those of you who don’t know me, but are familiar with Elaine’s culinary preferences, allow me to preface this post by stating that veg and spice-loving Elaine is a woman after my own heart. And so, when she asked me what I would feed her, this recipe I created with the intention of sharing around the start of the year (where has 2015 gone?) sprang to mind.

Sweet potatoes should have their own step on the food pyramid, imo. I truly love them that much. And anything spice-related likewise ticks major boxes for me. 

This simple recipe is the amalgamation of a variant of a hastily-thrown-together dukkah recipe (strangley, I have not found ready-made dukkah here in Stockholm!) and one for my beloved sweet potato fries. 

The Tahini Dipping sauce makes a tasty, creamy, vegan alternative to aioli or the like and a legume-free alternative to hummus… So for any Paleo-style eaters out there, this is something for you too.  It is adjustable depending on whether you want a spread, dip or drizzle consistency. And if you like falafel, these simple dishes, with an accompanying green salad, make for the most perfect sides.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present you with Dukkah Crusted Chunky Sweet Potato Fries and Tahini Dipping Sauce with Roasted Garlic

 Smaklig måltid, as we say in Sweden! 

Marisa (AKA Miss Marzipan) xx

  

Dukkah Crusted Sweet Potato Chunky Fries

Ingredients

  • 1.5 tsp cumin seeds 
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 2 tsp white sesame seeds
  • 2 tsp black sesame seeds
  • 4 tsp pepita and/or sunflower seeds to scatter over
  • 3-4 sweet potatoes, cut into rustic, chunky chips (alternatively wedges)
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil/olive oil
  • At least 1 garlic clove for roasting (for the dipping sauce)
  • Salt and pepper to season
    Directions

    1. Preheat your oven to 190° C (fan) and line a baking tray with baking parchment.
    2. Crush cumin and fennel seeds with a mortar and pestle.
    3. Pop crushed seeds into a small bowl with the sesame seeds. 
    4. Place the potato wedges in a large bowl, drizzle over oil and toss potatoes to coat with the oil. Sprinkle over the seed and spice mix and toss gently to coat.
    5. Place the coated potato wedges and unpeeled garlic clove (roast extra for later if you like) on the baking tray. Scatter over pepitas and/or sunflower seeds.
    6. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until seeds are nicely toasted and potato wedges are baked. I don’t turn them during baking (lazy!), but you can if you like.
    7. Serve hot with Tahini Dipping Sauce with Roasted Garlic to accompany. 

  

Tahini Dipping Sauce with Roasted Garlic

Ingredients:

  • 75 ml tahini
  • 75 ml lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil/olive oil
  • 75 – 125 ml water (to achieve desired consistency)
  • 1 roasted garlic clove (that was roasted along with your sweet potato fries- easy!)
  • A pinch of salt
  • A couple of tsp of chopped fresh herbs to garnish (parsley and chives work well)

Directions:

  1. Squeeze the roasted garlic out of its skin and pulse a food processor, together with tahini, lemon juice, oil, salt and 75 ml of water. Add more water, a tablespoon at a time, to achieve the consistency you want. 
  2. When smooth and of the desired consistency, transfer to a bowl and sprinkle over fresh herbs. Serve with Dukkah Crusted Sweet Potato Chunky Fries/falafel/on sandwiches as a spread, etc.  

OMG! YUM YUM YUM!!! I love this, Marisa, I’ll be licking the plate 🙂 thank you xx

21 thoughts on “What would you feed me….Marisa?

  1. Fae's Twist & Tango

    Marisa, Darling, you have delighted not only Elaine but all of us. I love sweet potatoes and this recipe is a keeper, and the tahini sauce with roasted garlic is quite special too.
    Elaine, You are being fed well, my dear friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.