Semolina sourdough…

On Instagram I follow a lovely lady called Anita who bakes amazing bread and lots of sourdough which she shares as @sourdough_mania. Anita shares lots of recipes and tips and recently posted a semolina sourdough recipe which just tickled my fancy! So I made it, the loaf is in the photo above, and it was fab. The dough is lovely, beautifully smooth, wonderfully springy, and the baked outcome is really tasty. So I’m sharing my experience and recipe; I added some oil to Anita’s recipe to tighten up the crumb…

NOTE: this recipe is four days in the making, although not labour intensive during that time, and I do think it’s worth it. I tried making a shorter overnight version and the outcome wasn’t as good as the full four day version, although I will be experimenting with that further. All of the love and care does create a lovely, bouncy dough.

It is a VERY soft dough though and it does need to be cooked straight from the fridge. If you leave it out of the fridge for a while before cooking, my experience is that it will lose its form and spread as you bake it. 

Recipe 

Preparing your starter: 

Feed your starter. I know that if I feed Star with 1/4 cup of flour & 1/4 cup of water, she will yield the necessary 70g of bubbly starter. I increase this to 1/2 cups to generate the starter I need when I’m making 500g loafs. Once your starter is lovely and bubbly, begin..

Day one: mix together..

70g bubbly starter

70g ground semolina 

70g water

…and leave out overnight.

In a separate bowl mix together…

310g semolina flour

180g water 

1tbsp oil 

…and leave in fridge overnight.

Day two: remove the semolina/water/oil mixture from the fridge to soften up and make it easier to mix with the starter.

Your starter should be lovely and bubbly and alive now. Add 1tsp salt to it, then mix it into the semolina/water/oil mixture. You’ll need to get your hands in to mix it really well.

Keep it out of the fridge like this for 2-3 hours and during that time, perform a series of 5 stretches and folds on the dough. Then cover the bowl and return it to the fridge.

Day three: remove the bowl from the fridge and leave at room temperature and allow the dough to increase by about 60% (by eye). 

Then shape the dough. I stretch and fold the dough into a ball and place it into a floured banneton. 

Cover and put back into the fridge. 

Day four: Preheat oven to 275C.

Prepare your choice of bakeware – I bake mine in an enamel roaster on a round of parchment paper. Take the dough from the fridge and place directly into the roaster/on baking sheet, slash and put into the oven.

Reduce the oven to 245C (I use 220C fan), bake with the lid in the roaster for 25 mins, remove the lid and bake for a further 15 mins

Remove from oven and place on a rack to cool before slicing 

Since making this first loaf, I have made 3 more! For one of them I merely doubled everything and created a monster loaf (above)! It was a beauty though!! I’ve also calculated up the quantities to make a 500g (semolina) loaf which is my typical size, and it worked well too.

The quantities were: 

112g starter/semolina/water

500g semolina 

288g water 

1tbsp oil

1tsp salt 

Baked for 25 mins covered, 20 mins uncovered 

I highly recommend giving it a go! 

Wishing you all a great weekend, starting with this week’s Fiesta Friday with Lindy and Paula

x

37 thoughts on “Semolina sourdough…

  1. sallybr

    not sure which picture I love the most – I think the one still in the pan, with that “in your face I’m gorgeous” attitude 😉

    what a beauty! I also had to smile at the recipe with Day 1, Day 2 etc etc, and thinking that so many people would be scared to do it, but yes, it s true, mostly hands off time, and look at the reward!

    I haven’t fed my sourdough in a while, so no bread this weekend, which all of a sudden I realize it is a long weekend, Monday is Memorial Day – I am not ready to do a happy dance, but I must say I’ll enjoy the additional time off

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Actually, I should have said that shouldn’t I? Yes it’s four days, but there’s not a lot to do really!
      Thank you, I have really enjoyed making it! Luckily Ben is enjoying eating it all!!!

      Happy Dances with resume when you’re ready x x x

      Like

      Reply
  2. woodboneandstone

    Impressive outcome! My attempts at sourdough were mostly disappointing. I don’t shy away from long drawn out projects either so I don’t think it was a lack of patience. Perhaps one day I will make further attempts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      I had no idea either. Anita makes everything look so easy, when I did try using a stencil I realised it’s harder than it looks!
      I have my own bakery for my one customer, that’s enough for me xx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #174 - Fiesta Friday

Let me know what you think..

