Daily fresh bread…my secret…

I’ve been doing something different with my breadmaking recently that I’d like to share..

In my house, my son loves my sourdough loaves (I make 3, sometimes 4, sourdough loaves a week for him), whereas my husband prefers a basic white loaf, and neither of them is keen on the other one’s choice! 

A recent sourdough loaf 

My man also prefers his bread no older than 1 day, so making an actual loaf for him doesn’t really work, it needs to be something smaller. So I’ve started making bread rolls or baguettes on a daily basis – but I’m NOT making the actual dough on a daily basis, which is what I thought I’d share with you. I find this method so useful..

On a Saturday morning, and again midweek, I make up a pretty standard bread dough (details below), leave it to rise briefly, maybe up to an hour, then put it in the fridge

That’s the key: the fridge. 

Bread dough will continue to prove in the fridge but at a much slower rate. And it can be in there for days, all week if you like!

When I am ready to bake, I take out a couple of handfuls of the dough and shape them, place them on baking parchment on a baking tray, cover the whole thing with a plastic bag, and leave them to come to room temperature and prove for one last time for 1-2 hours. Then bake. Done!

Having the dough readily available also means that you could utilise some for pizza bases, or to make a slightly larger loaf on occasion, as I did last Friday evening to accompany their dinner..

Or knock up quick baguettes to accompany soup..

I have been including fine semolina flour in my dough to add some crispness to the crusts, but you don’t need to. I’ve also been adding olive oil for the flavour and goodness instead of butter. 

I also have portions of dough in the freezer; these are unlikely to rise enough to make a loaf but can be defrosted and used for flatbreads and pizza bases.

The recipe I use is below…place the ingredients into your mixing bowl in the order they are written..

1tsp salt

450g strong white flour

50g fine semolina 

1/2tsp dried yeast 

20g olive oil

280ml water 

Please note: flours around the world behave differently, some require more liquid than others, you may need a bit more water, see how your dough feels.

AND: the yeast does not need any special attention, it does NOT require sugar or warm water to activate it, all you need to do is sprinkle it across the flour then add your liquids. 

Squelch all of the ingredients together so that the flour is all incorporated, cover the bowl and leave it for an hour. 

After an hour, fold and knead the dough until it is a smooth ball. 

Leave to prove for an hour, then either take some out to use immediately or put the whole bowl in your fridge and use at will. 

I bake these rolls or baguettes, whatever I’ve decided to make, in the evening whilst I’m making dinner. If I’m roasting vegetables I bake at the same time and utilise the steam the vegetables create instead of putting a bowl of water in the oven. I leave them to cool, then bag them ready for the next morning for my husband to take to work. 

As a guide, I preheat my oven to 200C fan, put a bowl of boiling water in to create steam, and bake my rolls for 13-15 mins, and my baguettes for a bit longer. I tend to do it all by eye. 

I hope you find this useful too 🙂

Happy Friday! I’m taking my bread ideas along to Fiesta Friday to join my roasted vegetable soup 🙂

Rolls and sourdough baked last Sunday all ready for the start of the week  

43 thoughts on “Daily fresh bread…my secret…

  1. Jess

    Both types of bread look fantastic Elaine. I really do want to start making sourdough bread myself, it’s just those day(s) old starters that kinda freak me out. For some reason I keep thinking I’ll somehow mess it up. Have a good weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Gretchen

    Luckily all my guys like any and very bread I bake! I put fine semolina in my pizza dough. The recipe make a large batch so we make 3-4 pizzas the day I make it and freeze the other half for future use. Your loaves always look brilliant

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. sallybr

    That is a very useful post, I wish I could enjoy bread on a regular basis, but to me it became more of a special treat… still, I know many people will love this tutorial to have fresh baked bread at the drop of a (gorgeous) hat (wink, wink)

    I love the use of semolina in the dough – and your slashing is getting better and better!

    do “the boys” know how lucky they are? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Ha ha! A VERY gorgeous hat!!!
      A tip I read for the slashing is to dip your blade in water before each slash, it’s definitely made a difference.
      I’m like you, I don’t eat the bread, but I do love making it and seeing them eat and enjoy it, especially Ben with the sourdough, he’s always been such a bread fan!
      Thank you x x x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. sallybr

        Well, I do eat it, but it s too hard for me to exercise control around a loaf of bread, so my approach is to bake it maybe once or twice a month… I indulge, then move on… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. petra08

    Your family is so lucky! Two kinds of bread and I would love a slice of that sourdough any time! Your bread looks much better than what we have at the shops here! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Sophie33

    Your husband is spoiled that he likes to eat bread no longer aged then 1 day! Your own home-made bakery just for the 3 of you! Waw!!! All of the breads & baguettes look just stunning! xxx MMMMMM!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. homecookexplorer

    This is what I do also. As needed I make up a dough of about 2.8kilos and like you – into the fridge it goes. And from it comes bagels, pizzas, burger buns, loaves, morning hotcakes…… I refresh my starter at the point where the last of the refrigerated dough is made into something. I’ll also add more flour/salt/water if I want a different flavor/texture/hydration

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Pingback: GOOD LUCK

Let me know what you think..

