Hob/stove pan cooked spelt sourdough pizza…

As is my way, when I recently made up some sourdough dough, I threw the leftover bubbly starter into a bowl with some spelt flour, fine semolina, olive oil, water and salt and put it in the fridge until I decided what to do with it…it continued to bubble and develop over the next few days..

…even in the fridge! 

It was so bubbly, it looked like it was just sourdough starter, not a complete dough!

I had read a snippet in a food magazine recently about cooking pizzas in a pan on the hob (I guess in the US you’d call it a skillet pizza?) to ensure a crispy base, so decided to try it out with some of this dough.

I took out a handful and rolled it into a loose ball; I sprinkled fine semolina over an oven sheet pan, then pushed the dough into a round with my hands..

I made it quite thin, as I knew it would puff up in the pan, which meant it lost a lot of shape as I transferred it to the hot pan, but I just pushed it back into shape as it started to cook. 

I used a non stick pan, heated over a high heat initially to crisp up the base, before turning it down to medium once the dough had been in the pan for a minute or so. I cooked it for a few minutes, then turned it over, and starting cooking it further. At this time I smeared our homemade tomato sauce over the base, sprinkled over grated cheese and dollops of mascarpone. I turned on the grill as it cooked through. 

Once the base had browned, and before it burnt, I removed the pan from the hob and place it under the grill for a couple of minutes to cook the cheeses. If, like me, your pan has a plastic handle, just don’t push the pan in too far under the heat. 

And it worked a treat! By using the hob, it saved turning on the oven for a single pizza, plus with the added semolina in the dough, it created a lovely crispy base. I’ll definitely do this again because it’s also a speedy way to produce a pizza for a hungry teenage boy!

Please note that this can be done with any dough, it doesn’t have to be sourdough or spelt as I’ve done, any pizza or bread dough would work. 

With the rest of the dough, I also made up some crispy flatbreads which I enjoyed with some fridge/freezer raid salad the next day..

Welcome to Autumn, my most favourite season of the year! I hope you’ve had a good week and a good weekend ahead – but before then, let’s pop over to Fiesta Friday, with Mollie and Johanne and see what wonderful dishes everyone has brought…

57 thoughts on “Hob/stove pan cooked spelt sourdough pizza…

  1. FrugalHausfrau

    Oh I wish i had a taste of this! I bet it was marvelous! I’ve never heard of cooking it stovetop like that but I just had a pizza tonight and had to preheat the oven to 450 degrees F, which took about 10 minutes and then bake the pizza for another 17…seems like a lot of energy for one pizza! I’ll try this. I still have some extra dough!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. sallybr

    WHen I was 20 years old (that was like yesterday, mind you) the mother of my boyfriend used to make a pizza on the stovetop – all I know is that the dough took beer. But no rising, and I believe no yeast, but I could be wrong – it was delicious, thin, crispy… how I wish I had asked for the recipe then, but I barely knew how to boil water at the time. I got into cooking maybe four years later or so….

    good times…

    your pizza looks simply AMAZING! And I do love spelt (included some in a sourdough today, which I’ll bake tomorrow morning)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      I’m glad to bring back a memory πŸ™‚
      Beer in the dough? I guess that replaced, or was, the yeast?
      I often wish I had started taking an interest in cooking all those years ago, I could have really maximised on living in the UAE!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚
      I also have memories of an amazing pizza I had in Italy many moons ago, I must have been around 9 years old…the base was really thin, and the only minimal toppings, and it was perfect!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Loretta

    Lovely pizza Elaine, and informative as always. It’s been such a long time since I’ve made home made pizza, but now you’re inspiring me to try it with the spelt flour and semolina I have lying in the pantry. Yummm

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. polianthus

    Honestly Elaine – how many marriage proposals have you had to field? I know, obviously that there is more to a spouse than being an excellent, imaginative, creative and loving cook, however, frankly, looking at your food photos, I cannot for the life of me think what else one would need….Hm

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      I used this method again last night using some bread dough I had made up and frozen in batches – I defrosted a portion and used to make the base for a pizza for my man. I topped it with some of my recently made Mexican chilli sauce and cheese, and it was a winner!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Angie | Fiesta Friday

    Elaine!! Now I want pizza!! I always feel like I can’t really get great homemade pizza. I sometimes make good pizzas that satisfy but they’re not the same as the ones from pizzeria. Now I know the secret, it’s a hob! Er…what is a hob? πŸ˜„ That pizza looks to die for! Those bubbles! And I thought only pizzerias can do that!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      I have to say, I kept making pizzas in the oven and the bases weren’t getting cooked enough, but this method solves that completely! The base comes out crispy and cooked perfectly, plus it’s so much faster on the hob (or stove top πŸ˜€), I’m converted!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pingback: GOOD LUCK

Let me know what you think..

