Pumpkin seeds, rye berries, oats and spelt sourdough..

 I’m afraid bringing you more sourdough bread, but it’s too good not to share! If you were here right now, I’d share it in person too, but we’ll have it make do with a virtual share..

So, before I tell you about the actual loaf, let me tell you how it came about..I recently met another blogger: the amazing baker and cook, Ginger from Ginger and Bread. She was visiting my part of the world and I made a quick visit to meet her and it was lovely. Having read her blog and seen her on television, we didn’t really need any introductions, and launched straight into a discussion about food. We had each brought each other food gifts and Ginger gave me a large bag of ‘rye berries’, something new to me.. 

Rye berries are whole rye kernels, and can be used in baking and dishes once they’ve been soaked and cooked. They can be eaten like any grain as an addition to a meal. Having soaked and cooked some this is how they looked.. 

And they are very tasty! 
Ginger brought them specifically as she had been talking about them on her blog and her suggestion was for me to use them in a loaf of bread. And luckily for me, she even developed a recipe for me, which is what I used yesterday (only substituting sunflower seeds for pumpkin seeds, no other changes) and baked the loaf this morning. I followed the recipe, which calls for many folds and lots of nurturing, and it worked beautifully, creating a huge tasty loaf. It includes spelt flour, oats, seeds and cooked rye berries.. 

This is the dough after several hours of being lovingly folded every half hour

 All tucked up and ready for bed: I then left it to prove in a floured tea towel, in a bowl, and in the fridge overnight  

And baked it first thing this morning…
 It grew so much, even more as it baked, it literally filled my roaster 
I then waited a painstaking 5 hours before cutting into it!!! (But I have cut into sourdough bread too soon before and if it’s still too warm, the steam makes the bread all gummy, so I have learnt my lesson) 

And when I finally cut into it it was worth the wait.. 
  Look at all those berries and seeds!

Lunch is served! I don’t eat bread very often but when I do, my favourite choice would always be with a good strong cheddar and fresh tomato πŸ™‚ 

Bon appetit! 

Thank you Ginger xx

57 thoughts on “Pumpkin seeds, rye berries, oats and spelt sourdough..

  1. sallybr

    Wonderful! I am almost sure I made a bread with wheat berries before, but will have to check – before my blogging days I kept a little notebook with the breads I made, maybe it’s in there… I think they give the bread a very unique texture, softer than seeds. very nice

    I baked a sourdough today too – if it turns out tasty I will share on my blog at some point – this one has hazelnuts and blue cheese in it…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Ooh, that sounds good!!
      Whilst I was nurturing this one yesterday I also kept an eye on Maurizio’s ‘best sourdough recipe’ – I do think that all of the folding it worth it πŸ™‚
      Yes, I like the rye berries, very tasty, I love the chewiness to them x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Anita Kushwaha

    How neat that you got to meet up! The bread looks amazing and I’m impressed that you had the willpower to wait 5 hours before slicing into it. I’m not sure I would have been able to muster the restraint, ha ha. I can imagine that your house smelled lovely this morning with the bread baking in the over. A lovely share! πŸ™‚ xo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Anita Kushwaha

        Oh yes, I can imagine the mouth-watering aroma! Ah-ha, I see, keeping busy is the trick. Fantastic, ha ha. I love the roaster (I hope that’s that the right term) you bake in too. The loaves come out looking like they came from a bakery. πŸ™‚ xo

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Gretchen

    This looks incredibly delicious! I have yet to try rye berries, some day soon perhaps. The waiting is the worst part, my husband has cut into a hot loaf before too, despite me telling him not to!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Spelt Sourdough Bread w/Mixed Seeds | Bread and Tortillas

  5. Pingback: Sweet and Sourdough | simonjohnsonofclowne

  6. Pingback: Guest Post- Falafel By Elaine From Foodbod | apuginthekitchen

Let me know what you think..

