Lots of food & a few decorations

 Festive greetings from my little piece of the world..I seem to have collated various dishes and ideas recently without a fixed single recipe so I thought I’d share a few ideas in one place. And of course, my Christmas tree!  

  Okay, that’s the tree, now some food..

Last week I cooked a huge pan of diced sweet potato, butternut squash and carrots in coconut oil, sprinkled liberally with roasted cumin and sumac, mixed with sprout tops and quinoa…

And served with home roasted cashews..

  

Absolutely perfect with tahini sauce and pomegranate seeds..

I also recently revived my sourdough starter and put her to work making this lovely loaf: a mix of kamut/Khorason flour, spelt flour, strong white flour and poppy seeds..I followed Selmas overnight recipe for the dough, and just threw together my own mix of flours within the 500g requirement…
    
This bowl of green goodness is a mixture of some of my gluten free spinach flatbreads dough, mixed with quinoa and spelt, that I cooked using my special method but this time I cooked it in whey instead of water (try it, it’s very good!), all mixed and heated, and paired with my homous..

Below is a thrown together pie that worked really well: I had some pastry leftover from making pies for my boys, so I lined my mini pie tin with the pastry and blind baked it, then filled it with mild, soft, crumbly goats cheese and topped with roasted butternut squash slices..success! 

I’ve been playing with some apple chutney…rather than just go for cheese and crackers, I paired some of this tasty chutney from Spice Kitchen UK with a roasted sweet potato and goat cheese, it works very well!

I also baked some into a dish of baked ricotta and cream cheese – I basically created an apple chutney soft cheese πŸ™‚ 

Yesterday’s dinner was a roasted sweet potato topped with a mixture of cooked bulgur wheat, za’atar and olive oil, drizzled with tahini…pretty much a perfect combination of flavours!!! The sweet potato plus the za’atar plus the tahini..oh wow! 

Just a few glimpses from my kitchen recently..and here’s a couple of glimpses from the outside.. 

  This was a recent sunrise I caught when walking Bob, it was like a ball of fire, absolutely stunning! 

 Bob and I say hi! 

34 thoughts on “Lots of food & a few decorations

  1. Lynz Real Cooking

    Ok dear Elaine first I have to say you are sweet, adorable and pretty! Ok now, next I love your amazing tree and the little santa and stuff on the table in front of it! Very warm and lovely! The food is so good, I love cumin and sumac! Is it easy for you to find sumac over there? The sunrise is crazy beautiful and say hi to Bob! Love, Lynn

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Thank you lovely Lynn 😘😘
      I have huge jars of sumac in my cupboard that Mum brought from Abu Dhabi, but nowadays you can get it everywhere in the UK. British chefs have recently had a love affair with sumac so it’s become easily available.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Fae's Twist & Tango

    I get hungry every time I visit your blog. As I was scrolling… I saw your beautiful Christmas tree, colorful wonderful dishes, and at the end, your beautiful smile with your friend in the background.
    Merry Christmas, dear Elaine, I wish you and yours the Happiest of Holiday Season! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Stacey Bender

    Love your tree and especially the little snowman (that is all I have on my tree for the most part). Also, thanks for sharing you wonderful food, sunset and, of course, Bob! Ginger and Buddy say hi to Bob (and to you). Happy Holiday!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

