Perfect crispy roast potatoes..and parsnips…but mostly, perfect crispy roast potatoes ๐Ÿ˜€

This is an old post (as the photos show!) but it’s one of the most popular on my blog so I thought I’d reblog it…it’s the time of year for roast potatoes, so get them crispy!

foodbod

20131216-174846.jpg

โ€™tis the time of year for roast dinners and beautiful roast potatoes and vegetables, although in my house, a roast is welcome any time of year!!

When I married my husband, I promised to love and cherish him til death do us partโ€ฆ.AND learn how to cook a perfect roast!! Maybe not quite as official as that, but it was something I knew he loved to eat and I wanted to learn to make a good roast dinner (as good as, if not better than his Mumโ€™s!!) and now, both of my boys love nothing more than roast chicken with all the trimmings including perfect crispy roast potatoes. I remember the roast dinners of my childhood and the potatoes were always the star dish โญ๏ธ

This weekend I made a roast for my boys and our visitors and took some photos and notes as I made the roast potatoes inโ€ฆ

View original post 275 more words

34 thoughts on “Perfect crispy roast potatoes..and parsnips…but mostly, perfect crispy roast potatoes ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. Laura @ Feast Wisely

    Elaine – how I miss weekly roast dinners in Australia – somehow its not the same when it’s hot outside. But I still make lots of roasties. I just checked out your original post and I’d recommend experimenting with duck fat or beef suet in place of the vegetable oil – both are much better for you and produce an even better crispy finish!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      I do use duck fat on occasion for my boys but I don’t like the taste myself, I do agree it gets them even crispier!
      I always used to find it really odd when I lived in Dubai that people still cooked roast dinners every Sunday – firstly it wasn’t even a weekend day out there and secondly, who wants a roast in the heat??!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Let me know what you think..

