In My Kitchen…

August has disappeared in a flash, a flash of visitors and family, and, most importantly, lots of special time with my boys. If anyone ever asks me what I want most in life, it’s time with my boys, and this summer we had lots of it, it’s been wonderful. I am so grateful for every moment shared, every time we’ve laughed, every smile, every kiss and every cuddle. 

Those pictures and memories are safely, lovingly filed away in my head, so I bring you images from the last month that I am able to share in full technicolor to join this month’s wonderful blog share, In My Kitchen, created and hosted by the fabulous Celia

In my kitchen…as promised in my last IMK post, is a (huge!) sourdough loaf in honour of darling, Selma

This is 50% white and 50% wholemeal spelt flour and the flavour is so good. My starter, ‘Star’, is the daughter of Selma’s ‘Twinkle’ and granddaughter of Celia’s ‘Priscilla’ and is still going strong. Star lives in a covered glass dish in my fridge and I’ve literally left it about 3-4 weeks between feeds over the summer and she has still bounced back in true Priscilla style – she’s definitely made from strong stuff!

  
In my kitchen..is this set of china duck measuring cups..you all know how I love china measuring cups so I couldn’t walk past this set in my local supermarket..and, they are the only set I have in millimetres which could prove useful..

  
In my kitchen..is this Arabic lantern; I’ve had this in my cupboard ever since we moved to this house nearly 12 years ago. I carried it back from Abu Dhabi, a gift from my Mum, in my luggage about 15 years ago and it hung in my old house but had yet to find its place in this one; during August we finally redecorated our bedroom and it now has a perfect place, over our bed. The light patterns it creates around the room are stunning..

   In my kitchen..is a new gift from my Mum, this fab box. She visited the UK during August and brought this for me from a trip to Brick Lane market in London. And I love it!!! 

  In my kitchen..has been this huge trophy all summer. My son, Ben, is at senior school; last school year he was in year 8, the school runs from year 7 up to year 13 and it holds about 2000 kids. Last school year they decided to do a first ever ‘sports personality of the year’ award and a child was chosen from every year group to create a panel for all the other kids to vote for and yes, you guessed it, out of the entire school, my gorgeous boy was awarded the trophy. Absolutely AMAZING!!!! he was so excited! Such an amazing achievement, to be voted for by your peers for your sporting ability as well as personality 🙂

The trophy had to be returned yesterday, at the start of the new year, but he has a plaque to keep..

In my kitchen..are my new bright orange trainers, my newly appointed dog walking shoes; this photo doesn’t even do the colour justice, they are even more orange and brighter than this is real life! I’ll be heartbroken when they get dirty..which they no doubt will do eventually 😦

 
In my kitchen..is so much love. You can virtually reach out and touch it; it’s in the whole house, but in my kitchen and living room, it’s super concentrated. I love every minute I spend in my kitchen, especially when we sit down at the end of every day and share a meal and the stories of our days..that’s my daily gift, that, and my cuddles with my boys..  
Have a great September xx

44 thoughts on “In My Kitchen…

  1. sallybr

    Not sure where to start, it’s all so wonderful, but Ben’s achievement, that is AMAZING! You have every reason to be proud! Awesome!

    of course, I want a pair of shoes like yours, and your leggings are so stylish, you know I am addicted to color, so my heart missed a beat when I saw those photos – then I melted with the doggie shots…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Thank you so much 🙂 I am so proud of Ben, I am literally bursting with it! He’s such a lovely boy, it’s wonderful to see him applauded at school. Being voted for by your peers is such a huge thing.
      Oh, and I think you’d like my wardrobe!! Colour!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. skd

    Loved the tour of your amazing kitchen Elaine. You are right!Love is in the air. I can sense it in every nook and corner. The trophy is with out doubt the best embellishment of your kitchen. Congrats to all of you on the amazing achievement. My next favorite are your measuring cups. They are so kawai 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Loretta

    Beautiful loaf, I wish I hadn’t said “no thank you” to Selma when she offered some of her sourdough starter. Guess I didn’t feel like I’d have done a good job. Love the stuff you have on display in your kitchen. My favorite has to be the Arabic lantern and the Portobello box that your Mum bought for you. Yay Ben, what an accomplishment! Love is in the air for sure! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Loretta

        Aww, you’re so sweet Elaine. I will be away for a bit next week, and then the trip across the pond. In the meantime, I’ll do some homework on sourdough bread and see if I feel brave enough to tackle it :). If I do, I’ll be sure to reach out to you, thanks again xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Loretta

        I’ll be mostly with my Mum in Southampton, helping her out. I’m also visiting friends in Essex and trying to see if I can swing a day in London. It’s been ages since I’ve traipsed around the city and I know I’d like to.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Life Diet Health

    WOW! You must be SO proud of Ben! Just ONE sports personality of the year in the whole of high school! A fantastic achievement! and what a lovely trophy! (even if it did have to go back)! 😀
    Loads of love in your kitchen… and on your sofa too by the looks of it! 😛 Love that last photo of them both! 🙂 x x x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Ginger

    Wonderful post, Elaine, reminding us why the kitchen isthe centre of the home! Congratulations to Ben, too, what an amazing recognition!!! And yes, there is quite a bit of bread envy … those beautiful, big holes …
    😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Francesca

    This may seem rather odd, but I also have those geese measuring cups and the Arabic lantern, which I found second hand and is hanging near my kitchen on a key hook. So when I opened this post, I had a huge deja vu moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Maggie

    Loving the lantern, Elaine! It looks gorgeous. You will have to take a picture at night to show us all the lovely light patterns. Sorry to hear you already smashed your measuring cups – they are completely adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

