Wholemeal spelt & roasted cumin flatbreads and my daily loaf..

 It’s not news to you that I make fresh bread daily for my boys; for a year or so, that was the job of my breadmaker, producing perfect loaves each day. Since taking up the sourdough challenge and loving making my own loaves by hand, I’ve now started making all of my household’s bread myself each day and the breadmaker is now collecting dust. 

I use fresh yeast each day for my bread and I much prefer it to dried yeast, it’s so easy to work with. You can ask at any supermarket with an in house bakery for fresh yeast in the UK and they give it out for free, alternatively, I bought a big brick of it last week on eBay. I kept some out for immediate use and have portioned up the rest and put it in the freezer, as fresh yeast only lasts a week or so in the fridge. I defrost a portion daily, it defrosts very quickly; it may soften as it defrosts but it’s still in good working order.  
For daily use, I follow this pretty standard bread recipe which turns out a perfect loaf each time. I make this each afternoon ready for the next day; the rising time is only an hour. Should you wish to develop the flavour for longer, you could always reduce the amount of yeast and leave the dough to rise for longer. In this house, this typical, straightforward loaf is ideal for my boys and their less discerning palettes. You can play around with flours and additions. 
I use an organic strong white flour that hasn’t been bleached or played with in any way. I’ve also used the same recipe with brown flour and spelt flour (more about that later). 
This is my basic daily bread recipe:

Ingredients 

500g strong white flour

1 tsp salt

300ml warm water

15g fresh yeast

1 tbsp olive oil

Method

Put the salt in a large mixing bowl, then top with the flour. 

Melt the yeast in the warm water, pour it into the bowl with the flour, add the olive oil, and mix it all together by hand.

Turn it onto a lightly oiled surface and knead the dough for 5-10 minutes until silky and smooth.

I then put the dough into a greased loaf pan and leave it to rise with a plastic bag over the top, not touching the dough.

Heat oven to 210C (fan) and bake for 15 mins; turn oven down to 180C fan and bake for a further 15 mins. 

Remove and turn the loaf out onto a rack to cool.

Done πŸ™‚  

I also often use plain or wholemeal spelt flour. Spelt flour acts quite differently; it doesn’t need to be kneaded for long, it’s happier not being handled so much; its roses quickly, half an hour will do; and it baked beautifully, with a gorgeous nutty smell. It will bake with a crunchy crust which looks and smells amazing! My boys are getting to appreciate these loaves too.  

 This week I also made my first ‘khobez’ or Arabic bread (khobez means bread in arabic). I loved this bread as a teenager living in Dubai; it comes in various sizes in Middle Eastern supermarkets, from huge thin platter-sized rounds, to smaller, thicker breads, which is what I made. We used to cut these open and fill them with onion and cheese and cook them on a barbecue on the beach at the weekend..yum!!! 

I used a recipe from ‘Palestine on a Plate‘, the writer of which, Joudie Kalla. is featured in this months Delicious. magazine. Joudie has created a downloadable app with recipes and other stuff which I purchased last week and am loving.  

Following on from making the khobez and from a comment from Linda about adding cumin to bread, I, of course, decided to play around with the breads and came up with these… 

Wholemeal spelt & roasted cumin flatbreads:

Ingredients 

200g flour (I used wholemeal spelt flour, you could use any flour of your choice)

120ml warm water

7g fresh yeast

25ml olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp nigella seeds

Method 

Put the salt in a large mixing bowl, then top with the flour. 

Melt the yeast in the warm water, pour it into the bowl with the flour, add the olive oil, roasted cumin and nigella seeds and mix it all together by hand.

Turn it onto a lightly oiled surface and knead the dough for about 5 minutes until silky and smooth.

Place in an oiled bowl and leave covered to rise to an hour. 

Once risen, knock the dough back and cut into 5-6 pieces. 

Form balls with the dough and roll out flat, not too thin or too thick. 

Heat a tawa or non stick pan over a medium heat and cook the breads in the pan for about 4-5 minutes each side, checking they don’t get burnt. 

Alternatively, you could try baking in a hot oven for a few minutes.

Eat immediately or store for a few days in an airtight container. These were almost better the next day once the flavour had developed further. I throughly enjoyed them with some of my green goodness sauce as a dip.  
I’m bringing my bread recipes to this week’s Fiesta Friday, co hosted this week by Loretta and Caroline – come and join the fun πŸ™‚ 

44 thoughts on “Wholemeal spelt & roasted cumin flatbreads and my daily loaf..

  1. polianthus

    very pretty indeed – interesting that your daily bread is a little like a sandwich loaf – breads we make on the continent are usually flat and rounder and made with wholemeal grains and wholemeals flours so they are darker and less fine-crumbed – myriad nations in bread. Love Khobz have made it too, love all breads really – have you tried sprinkling nigella seeds on top, adds a lovely bit of flavour

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Yes, it is pretty much a sandwich loaf, which is what I need it to be really for their lunches and breakfast. I’d mess around with it and make it a hand formed shape, but it’s not as user friendly!
      When I make khobez again I’ll try adding the onion seeds, thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. polianthus

        Have you ever tried making Norwegian Loaves -also the same shape but dark and nubbly – very delicious indeed.
        funny you call them onion seeds – always found it misleading as they don’t actually result in onions – as far as I have read that is πŸ™‚ but yes do give it a shot, its lovely

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

        Funnily enough, I’ve always loved bread, but I cut back and then pretty much cut it out, so that now I’m not wholly enamoured with it any more, I love the smell of it more than the taste, but also my stomach blows up when I do eat it, which isn’t fun 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      3. polianthus

        I guess that is the way with many things if you cut back on them and then eat them again, you notice whether or not they do you any good..at least you post your impressive efforts for the rest of us to enjoy visually

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Master of Something Yet

    I used to make all our bread with the assistance of a bread maker. I would only use it for the kneading then take the dough out and let it rise in a bowl. I had a system that let me make four or five loaves in an afternoon. I’d slice it and freeze it for the week. All this is to say THANK YOU for your daily bread recipe because I haven’t made our own bread regularly for years and I love the idea of making it each day for the next. The local small independent supermarket sells fresh yeast in their deli. I’m going to try for our own bread again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. apuginthekitchen

    I love it that you make all of the bread for your household. Everyone of them looks amazing especially your basic loaf, it’s perfect. Lucky family to have homemade bread every day. The spelt and cumin flatbreads look fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. skd

    It’s remarkable that you bake your breads daily. Your sons are lucky they have a caring and indulgent mama. Your daily bread looks so professionally made. No wonder if you have been doing that for quite some time now. This version with cumin looks and sounds very flavorful. I am just hopping over from Linda’s place admiring her khoobz and here we have another brilliant bake. I think it’s high time I start baking my breads. I am enough inspired nowπŸ‘β˜Ί

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. carolinescookingblog

    I’m very impressed with your daily bread making, I remember you mentioning before. Maybe I will make more often when the boys are older and no doubt getting through a lot! Anyway lovely recipes, thanks for sharing with Fiesta Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Chicken Burgers | La Petite Panière

  7. Pingback: Food ideas from my kitchen.. | foodbod

Let me know what you think..

