In My Kitchen, May 2015….

I do enjoy writing these In My Kitchen posts, a great series created and hosted by Celia every month, but they do make me realise just how many new ingredients and kitchen things I ‘obtain’ in a month!!  Good job my husband doesn’t read my blog really isn’t it?? πŸ˜‰

So this month in my kitchen…is this lovely new old enamel colander…when Selma came to visit recently I took her to a couple of fab local thrift shops, they are packed full of antiques, collectables and quirky items and are an absolute haven, I can’t visit them too often as I will always find things to buy!! (I did also pop back a few days later and came home with more lovely old cutlery and even more enamel plates and bowls…hee hee…) 

 

In my kitchen..are even more spices for my cupboard…and yes, they do all get used!    

Plus a whole fab selection of Mexican chillies…I’ve used lots of them already in various versions of harissa and in a new enchilada sauce I made yesterday…    

 
In my kitchen you will find used food shopping bags, water bottles and food packaging with Arabic writing on, I literally hate throwing them away, I just love seeing the Arabic script. My Mum even saves them for me and my husband specifically kept a couple of Al Ain water bottles for me from his recent visit to Abu Dhabi, so it’s no surprise that this tahini tin has become a vase…
In my kitchen….is bread! Bread, bread and more bread, every day!!!! This month I made my first baguettes (using my new baguette baking tray below), which were a hit; there is always 2 or 3 bowls of sourdough proving in the fridge and a fresh loaf on the board; and I am now officially Lebanese as I have a bag of toasted Arabic bread pieces in my freezer like all good Lebanese housewives!!   

 Ben came home one day recently asking me how that days bread turned out (we always discuss my highs and lows of bread making) and just as I went to show him the 100% wholemeal spelt loaf I’d made, he came across the photo of it on Instagram! It did make me chuckle! Bread in stereo! 

 In my kitchen…is several bags of Shipton Mill bread flour which is working well and tastes good, I’m told..     In my kitchen…is my new baby pressure cooker..I’m still learning and overcoming the fear!!   In my kitchen…is homemade goats cheese that I made this week and ate in several forms including with roasted aubergine and enchilada sauce..it came out really well, very tasty, so mild and creamy… 

In my kitchen…are freshly made cookies for Bob, they made the house smell so good when I baked them..the peanut butter and parsley flavour stopped my tucking in though….!! These are packed full of goodness as I didn’t have any eggs so I used ground flaxseeds and water as a substitute and added in some coconut oil, all good stuff for my little furry baby.. 

 
And just to make you smile, a couple of shots from one of our walks this week..  

    I hope you’ve enjoyed a peek into my world this month – have a great weekend xx 

69 thoughts on “In My Kitchen, May 2015….

  1. sallybr

    Ben’s photo is perfect! Look at that expression in his face… adorable!
    of course, I am drooling over the spices and that beautiful can with the roses, and your baby pressure cooker (I have a big one, but Brazilians grow up with them, so I’ve never been afraid)

    I offer to hold your hand when you use it πŸ˜‰

    of course, the final photo melted my heart…. great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Thank you so much Sally πŸ™‚
      It was so funny as Ben asked me about the bread and checked his Instagram at the same time! I am, of course, complimented that he even follows my account!
      Please do send any tips or posts regarding the pressure cooker, all very gratefully received πŸ™‚
      Aren’t the ducklings cute? All in a row…!
      X

      Like

      Reply
  2. tinywhitecottage

    What a fun post Elaine! I love all the things you do in your kitchen…homemade cheeses, breads, Bob treats. Bob treats! Did you post them? I’d love to hear about them, I know Hesster would be so pleased if I made him treats.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Debi @ My Kitchen Witch

    I love that colander, Elaine! It’s great rummaging through “thrift” shops. I used to make vases, pencil holders, etc. out of my Greek tins. I still have one stuffed full of old pens in my study. Happy bread making! Looks like you’ve also got the bug!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. polianthus

    Oh I had an identical colander – I think I gave it away…now I look at yours I want mine back! How does in my kitchen work – searched through clelias site but couldn’t find any instructions – !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      As far as I know, you produce your IMK post every month, before the 10th of the month, link it to Fig Lime and Jam, then send the link to Celia so that she can add it to the list on her blog x

      Like

      Reply
      1. polianthus

        Ok that sounds simple enough and I am guessing you find the email somewhere on the blog, havent made the 10th but who knows maybe I will next month….and the theme is (I amgoing by your blog here) anything that you have in the kitchen at the time? πŸ™‚ Happy sunday

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚
      I haven’t posted specifically about the spelt loaf, but if you search sourdough on my blog you’ll find a couple of posts about my sourdough experiments and links to other blogs for guidelines; I also read up on spelt bread making on various blogs and websites.
      I then grew my own wholemeal spelt starter following the same process as making any other starter, then followed the same processes as for other loaves I’d made but using just 100% wholemeal spelt flour. You tend to need to add a bit more flour though to make the dough as ‘tight’ as you can because as it proves it becomes really loose and sloppy and quite hard to work with, however much flour you add, which is why I baked it in a loaf tin otherwise it would just spread across the baking tray!
      It worked well though, worth the effort I think πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      How cute! They don’t bother me until they fly backwards and forwards over head during the summer to different lakes and they make such a row!!!! I think every single goose in the pack squawks!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Kirsty

    Elaine, lovely goings on in your kitchen and surrounds this month. Such a cute goosey family in the pond. I hear ya regarding your fear of the pressure cooker, me too! Hat’s off to you for taking the first step. I’ll just watch from the sidelines… πŸ™‚ cheers, Kirsty xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Kavey

    Ooh another tasty month! I thought I’d hardly done anything of note until I sat down this morning and wrote my own post, and realised that, even with my new contract (long days, long commute, no time to do much of a weekday) I’d still managed to fit in a lot of tastiness. I love the look of those aubergines!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. tiffinbitesized

    I read your post earlier in the month must must have forgotten to comment. Anyway….

    At first I thought Bob was your husband and thought the peanut butter and parsley combination odd but then I realised who it actually was! I like the tahini tin. I have an old hoi sin sauce jar with label that I use for a similar purpose. Waste not want not! xxx

    Like

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

