In My Kitchen, April 2015…looking back at March…

My gosh, it’s April already!! Where did March go? Well, in this house, it flew by in a flurry of my sons birthday (2nd), my birthday (23rd), Mothers Day and a definite step towards Spring…so…along with the wonderful Celia and all of her In My Kitchen bloggers this month…

In my kitchen..

  

..I’ve only just burst the balloons that my husband hung around the kitchen for me. I just couldn’t bear to get rid of them! 

In my kitchen…

  

…are still the beautiful flowers sent to me by my lovely friend xx

In my kitchen…

  

…are sparkly toes!!!! Another lovely friend and I spent my birthday having pedicures and lunch out 🙂 

In my kitchen…

 

…is this garlic peeler and grater gifted to me by yet another lovely friend…I am so lucky to have such lovely people in my life 🙂  

Another friend forgot my birthday on the day so I took great pleasure in reminding him and hearing him cringe (hee hee, how mean am I?) so he left a bag full of garlic on my doorstep the next day…do you see a theme here…??

In my kitchen…

…I appear to have started a collection of china cup measures – oh the joy of TKMaxx. I just love all of these! And with all of my bread making and starter feeding I use them constantly. 

In my kitchen…

  

…is this set of forks I just somehow happened to bid for on eBay!! I just love the letter B; B has always been big in my life, it was the first letter of my maiden name – Butcher (yes, I know, mad name for a vegetarian!); the first letter of my married name, Boddy, and therefore the first letter of my husband surname; the first letter of my sons name, Ben; and the first letter my lovely puppys name, Bob; it was key in the name of my previous business, Green and Brown, and now of course in foodBod. I have also always had an interest in calligraohy and typography and B is a great letter so write and embellish. 

In my kitchen…

 

…is this bowl, plate and spoon (carved from a lemon tree) gifted to me by the amazing Linda from La Petit Paniere.

In my kitchen…

   

…is this walnut ‘lame’ for slashing bread dough prior to baking, plus new ‘banneton’ proving baskets that Ben gave me for my birthday.

And of course, in my kitchen….

  

…is endless loaves of sourdough! 

  

We didn’t have hot crossed buns for Easter in my house, we have a hot crossed loaf instead 🙂 

 

I hope you have had, or are having, a great Easter weekend, the sun is pouring into my kitchen right now and Bob is sunbathing in his own little sun trap in the garden. Have a great day 🙂

 

62 thoughts on “In My Kitchen, April 2015…looking back at March…

  1. sallybr

    Oh, this is an AMAZING round-up of lovely things, pedicure included… love the blue, in fact my fingernails are painted blue right now, but a different shade, a little darker, more like a teal tone

    I want the measuring cups and spoons. I want it all, and I’ll take it with a slice of each bread. Thank you! that will do 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Ha ha! I’m so glad you loved it all that much!!!
      Mine are the pink toes, my friend is far cooler than me! Sadly, it hasn’t actually been warm enough for anyone to actually see my beautiful toes though 😦 x

      Like

      Reply
      1. sallybr

        That will come soon! Fingers crossed… unfortunately I cannot pain my toe nails, it is very odd, I get a bad reaction to nail polish and they flake (the nails) after a week. Pretty odd indeed.

        Like

      2. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

        How strange! There must be something in nail varnish that doesn’t agree with you??
        I don’t paint mine that often, and if I do, I eke it out for months and months!

        Like

  2. sallybr

    By the way, my very best friend from Brazil forgot my birthday this year – I’m having SO MUCH fun giving her grievance…. she won’t ever forget again, I don’t think

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU TOO!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. M-R

    When we look back on the length of time you waited for your wonderful new kitchen, I am scarcely surprised that you make it into something not only totally functional, but personal, Elaine ! It’s all beautiful. XO

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

    Elaine, I LOVE all your new crockery! The garlic grater has me intrigued – how does it work? You and I are definitely not allowed to go shopping together – we’d come back with a mountain of stuff (come over and I’ll take you to my favourite Turkish ceramics shop). Your loaves are looking absolutely stunning! Happy belated birthday to both you and your son – March was a good month for birthdays! 🙂 (PS. I wouldn’t have been able to resist the monogrammed forks either!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Sounds like we’d DEFINITELY have to go shopping together!! That Turkish shop sounds perfect!
      I haven’t used the grater yet, but the garlic peeler, the cylindrical white plastic tube thing is fab! The best gift ever!!!

      Like

      Reply

Let me know what you think..

