MORE sourdough activities in the foodbod kitchen..

   

I must stop photographing every loaf I make…I really must…but I’m just so proud of them!!! Each and every one! I’m endlessly amazed that I have created every bit of each loaf by hand, and like giving birth, I can’t help but want to celebrate every creation 🙂 

  

I’ve definitely been bitten by the sourdough bug: I currently have three starters on the go in my kitchen, my original Bodicea, my Bodicea III (from the Paul Hollywood recipe) and a wholemeal spelt one that I haven’t yet named. I feed them daily because I am now using them daily, literally, I am now making sourdough bread every day and the boys are eating it ALL!!  

When I first made the starters, they were so bubbly and healthy but my dough wasn’t really rising much; luckily a couple of my lovely fellow bloggers explained that the starters get stronger with age, that really helped me as I thought I was getting something wrong! They are definitely getting stronger daily and creating lovely rises. The spelt starter in particular has performed really well. I really must name her…!

 

I’ve been making bread daily for them in my breadmaker for a couple of years now, but now I’m making it by hand each day, and if I revert to the breadmaker, Ben complains that it’s BORING bread!! I think I’ve spoilt him…;) so my arm muscles are growing as I knead dough and then slice crusty loaves. Ben even bought me some proving baskets, ‘bannetons’, for my birthday last week, and after seeing Aunt Juju‘s walnut ‘lame’, for scoring the top of the dough prior to baking, I just had to have one…so I’m all set up.. 

    

I’ve continued to use Celia and Selmas overnight dough recipe for some of my loaves, but I’ve also been experimenting with utilising the method of making a ‘sponge’ to create the loaf. This method calls for mixing freshly fed starter with some of the flour and water and leaving it to grow and bubble overnight, or for 2-8 hours, then adding more flour and kneading and leaving to prove again, before punching down, leaving for the last prove before baking. 
I’ve used this recipe and this one and I’ve created my own version to create smaller daily loaves. I’ve also played around with the cooking temperature and times to get it right for us and I’ve developed my own plan based on my ovens.

So, based on the first link above, I’ve been doing this:

I’ve started off by making a sponge by mixing..

1/2 cup / 90g bubbly starter

1 1/2 cups / 240g white / brown strong bread flour

3/4 cup / 130g warm filtered water

Once roughly mixed, I’ve covered it and left it develop for anything from 2 hours to 12! 

Next I’ve added..

1/2 cup / 80g chosen bread flour

Mixed well and kneaded for 3-5 minutes until smooth. I’ve then covered again left to prove from, again, 2 to 12 hours, the longer you leave it, the deeper the flavour becomes. 

I’ve then punched the dough down and placed into a well floured proving basket and left to prove, covered, for another 1-2 hours.

I’ve then tipped the dough onto a baking sheet lined with silicone paper, scored the top with my lame, drizzled some drops of water across the top to boost rise and a good crust (another great tip from another lovely blogger, the Frugal Hausfrau, thank you x), and baked at 205-210C (this is based on my fan assisted oven) for 30 minutes. I’ve then propped the oven door open slightly, turned the heat off and left the dough for 5 more minutes, before removing and leaving to cool on a site rack.  

And it’s definitely working for me!!  And for Ben and Graham and every one of Ben’s friends that are forever at our dinner table! It makes me so proud. 
And no, I still don’t eat any 🙂 

I hope your week is starting well and you all had a good weekend. This week I am excited to bring you a guest post on Wednesday for my ‘What would you feed me?’ series from one of our most beloved blog friends..see you then..xx

37 thoughts on “MORE sourdough activities in the foodbod kitchen..

  1. cookingwithauntjuju.com

    How beautiful your bread turned out and pictures too! I will add this to my sourdough collection of recipes to try. Thanks for the shout out Elaine as the walnut lames are beautiful and you did a great job with your pictures – I have learned a few things from you. Must take more time with my photographs. I need to add the lame to my kitchen gadgets category 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. platedujour

    Elaine these breads look fabulous!! I think I have to publish my master recipe now too! It’s amazing what baking a real bread can do to us isn’t it?! I make bread once a week now and we eat it all too. Can’t remember when it was last time when we bought some bread. Your bread looks stunning. I just got back from Milan- it was a wonderful weekend! I hope you’re well, lots of hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      It is isn’t it? You can see why I wanted one 🙂
      I was making toast for Ben at the weekend and it smelt SOOOOO good that I decided to have a piece…within minutes my stomach started to ache and bloat 😦 it’s just not worth it sadly. Ben is now my chief taster instead 🙂
      I must thank you again, Celia, without you sending Priscilla out around the world, I wouldn’t be enjoying making sourdough bread by hand everyday xx

      Like

      Reply
  3. M-R

    We aren’t bored, MSPF, none of us. We delight in your pleasure, in fact – and some of us (well, at least one of us) do a bit of jealous teeth-grinding … Shall I ask Celia for some starter then ?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Karinna

    Lovely! I’m a little bit envious of all this sourdough action going on around the world but we just don’t eat anywhere near enough bread to keep the starter going (and no boys in our house to feed it to!). B makes non-sourdough loaves occasionally and we also have a wonderful bakery virtually on our doorstep. But that doesn’t stop me drooling over your loaves – they look so, so good! I’d love a crusty slice right now, I really would 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Selma's Table

    Wonderful to see all your gorgeous loaves and also to hear how you have adapted it all to suit your family and equipment. Love that lame and the bannetons too! Isn’t Ben just a star?!! Keep taking pictures!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

