Swede (rutabaga) gets the foodbod treatment..

2015/01/img_6274.jpgOn Boxing Day, my sister in law put out a huge spread of food and there must have been 10 different vegetable dishes, including, some swede mash. I, very obligingly, ate a huge amount of said vegetable dishes, including the swede which was very tasty, and I decided there and then it was time to have a play with a new vegetable. Enter: swede.

I’m bringing my swede experiments to this week’s Fabulous Fifty First Fiesta Friday, brought to you by Angie, and this week’s lovely co hosts-the wonderful Jhuls and Cooking with Aunt Juju.

The obvious thing to do was a mash for starters, which I did by peeling and chopping a swede, steaming it, then mashing with coconut oil and salt & pepper. It was very nice as a starting point and great for eating with some of my other veggie dishes, lovely for soaking up marinades. I know lots of swede mash includes butter and cream, but that’s all too much for me.

Next I steamed swede and carrots and mashed half of them with 0% creme fraiche and my homemade harissa, which was good, but even nicer when I threw in some tahini sauce too..

2015/01/img_6594.jpg

2015/01/img_6267.jpgWith the rest of the swede and carrots and harissa, I added it to some roasted sweet potato..

2015/01/img_6268.jpgThe first bowl, with the tahini sauce was quite rustic, which was nice, but I wanted to try getting smoother, so I use a stick blender and the outcome was this..

2015/01/img_6277.jpg

2015/01/img_6275.jpg

2015/01/img_6276.jpgFor my last experiment, I roasted some swede, carrots and garlic with my favourite marinade:

Olive oil
Lemon juice
Harissa
Mayonnaise
Tomato purée
Salt and Pepper

And roasted it for about an hour and a half – next time I would steam the vegetables slightly before roasting, it did take a while to get really good!!

2015/01/img_6595.jpgOh my it was good!! Very tasty!!

2015/01/img_6299.jpg
Of course, I whizzed up the leftovers with some tahini and lemon juice and it made a FABULOUS dip!

2015/01/img_6312.jpgSo I guess, really, you can do anything with swede, the flavour isn’t that strong, and I think that it benefits from being added to. It is quite watery though so I think it benefits from being beefed up with other ingredients.

I enjoyed the leftover dip yesterday with some lovely baked butternut squash chips..

2015/01/img_6395.jpg

2015/01/img_6392.jpg

39 thoughts on “Swede (rutabaga) gets the foodbod treatment..

      1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

        I just commented on your post but it’s not showing 😕 after my 6 comment mess up on your blog recently I don’t want to risk trying again and creating endless repeats!!!

        Like

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #51 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Karinna

    I think you hit the nail on the head there for me – although swede can sometimes be bland, what really turns me off it is that slightly watery texture. You certainly seem to have dealt with both of those very well! I never thought swede could look so appealing. It has to be the one vegetable I tend to feel completely uninspired by, so thanks for the tips!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. la_lasciata

    I’ve loved the taste of swede all my life, Elaine; but unlike you, I think it has a highly distinctive flavour, and it’s never occurred to me to think of it as ‘watery’. My mother attributed my un-family-like size to the fact that as a toddler, sitting in my highchair while she fed me from a bowl full of mashed carrot, parsnip and swede, I would be quite ready to go on consuming it indefinitely. [grin]

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Sounds good to me!!! Maybe it was the ones I bought, but I’ve had three recently and they seemed to have very little flavour 😦 I’ll try again, the next ones might be different!
      I remember feeding Ben bowls and bowls of mashed root vegetables as a baby…shame he won’t eat them now!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. platedujour

    I also admit that thanks to Prudy I didn’t have to check twice what the swede was 😀 it looks yummy Elaine- and it’s true, your dips are so good- I suck at this – just dig in and that’s all, where you’re so creative. And lovely colors!! Have a fabulous week xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Pimp Your Veg part 8: dips, dips, and more dips! (perfect for using up leftover vegetables)  | foodbod

Let me know what you think..

