New Year’s Dip…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6f1/59169755/files/2015/01/img_6029.jpgYes! I did it! I experimented with some parsnips over christmas, firstly by peeling and chopping some up, tossing them liberally in olive oil and my homemade chilli powder and roasting them…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6f1/59169755/files/2015/01/img_6010.jpgThey were crunchy and gorgeous!!! Even my husband, who thinks that parsnips are the devils food, ate some of these 🙂

And secondly, of course, I tested some out in a dip: I whizzed up the leftovers with tahini and lemon juice and hey presto…a very nice new dip flavour..

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6f1/59169755/files/2015/01/img_6024.jpgWhat else would you expect from me really?? I hate to be predictable but I do have a title to uphold!!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6f1/59169755/files/2015/01/img_6023.jpgSo, I welcome in the new year and the first Fiesta Friday of 2015 with the first new dip of the year! Enjoy!!

This week’s co hosts for the best weekly blog party ever, are Kaila and Mr Fitz, pop over and join them for a great selection of blog posts.

62 thoughts on “New Year’s Dip…

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #49 | The Novice Gardener

  2. la_lasciata

    Brilliant, me old china ! – the parsnip is a largely overlooked vegetable, and deserves not to be. Stringer and I always had roast parsnip with any joint he cooked. I am considering the purchase of a camp gas oven – specifically for my bread, but if I do get one, I think roasting vegies might be another use for it.
    XO !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Karinna

    I have always loved parsnips, they’re one of my favourite veggies… Did the parsnip flavour come through strongly in the dip or was it more of a neutral base for other flavours? Happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      I think you could taste the spices and the parsnips, without it being very strong. I tested it on a few people but none of them guessed the vegetable so it obviously wasn’t overwhelming x

      Like

      Reply
  4. Kaila511

    Thank you so much for bringing these! I absolutely love parsnips, so I’m glad you finally tried them out. My favorite time of year for parsnips is the springtime. In New England with the winter freeze our springtime parsnips are sweeter than the fall ones due to chemical changes with the freeze, which I think is pretty cool. 🙂 The dip looks tasty as well. Happy 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. suzjones

        I like my juices. I try for 2-4 juices several days a week. It doesn’t always work out that way but when I don’t have them, I miss them and my body notices the difference.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think..

