My take on Christmas cakes…

IMG_5504.JPGI’m afraid I don’t like Christmas cake; I just don’t like heavy duty fruit cakes, even before I stopped eating sugar I didn’t like them. I do however like a lot of the elements: the spices, the dried fruit, the nuts, so many flavours that I love, just not packed into a heavy rich cake and fed alcohol 😦

So this year, I’ve made my own lighter, gluten free, sugar free, fat free version, designed for my palate, sure, but the recipe might also be useful if you have guests at Christmas with intolerances or if you just don’t fancy going completely mad for a change…?!

IMG_5505-0.JPGThis makes it look like the cinnamon sticks are huge, but it’s just the angle of the photo! The cinnamon sticks are indeed lovely though, another winner from Just Ingredients, I also used their lemon peel powder and orange peel powder (very cool) and with the nutmeg and allspice too, these smelt divine.

Ingredients

3 heaped tablespoons finely ground almonds
1 heaped tablespoon chestnut flour (it doesn’t have to be chestnut flour, it can be 100% ground almonds, or a mixture with another gluten free flour)
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp allspice
2 tsp lemon peel powder
2 tsp orange peel powder
200g mixed dried fruit, I used raisins, sultanas, cranberries
2 large eggs
2 tsp baking powder (I used a gluten free one)
2 apples
100g Greek yoghurt

Method

Preheat oven to 180C. I use a silicone mini loaf tray to make these cakes, you can use cupcake liners or a muffin tray of you don’t have one.

Mix all of the ground almonds and other flour, if using, in a mixing bowl with all of the spices and the baking powder.

Chop the apple up to remove the core and put it all into a small bowl blender. Process the apple to chop it up, keep scraping the sides down, and process again and repeat until the apple starts to become mushy and liquid.

Mix the apple mulch with the eggs and yoghurt then fold it into the flour mixture. Throw in the dried fruit and stir it through so that it’s all spread evenly through the mixture.

Spoon the mixture into your mini loaf/cupcake/muffin tray and bake for 20 minutes.

These are good straight out of the oven, like any cakes really, but they’re even better left to cool and eaten a few hours later, or even the next day, to allow the flavours to really come out.

IMG_5506.JPGI’m bringing my little baby goodness packed Christmas goodness cakes to this week’s Fiesta Friday, this week being co hosting by the divine and wonderful, Prudy, and the equally fabulous, Jess, come along and join in the fun…

IMG_5507.JPG

37 thoughts on “My take on Christmas cakes…

  1. apuginthekitchen

    Fruit cake gets a bad rap in my opinion, it can be so delicious, I’m not talking about the kind you get in the store with candied fruit but homemade and I love how yours looks and sounds. The angle on the photo with the cinnamon sticks is funny they do look quite large but it is a lovely photo those cakes look awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ the cinnamon sticks do look huge don’t they??
      I know that there’s fruit cakes and fruit cakes, they’re not all the same, I’ve just never met one I liked!!! πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  2. mimi

    Gorgeous cakes! I make a fruitcake for my mother every year and it’s dense with fruits and nuts and some candied fruit, because she loves it, and it’s also soaked in brandy. I prefer your version!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs

    Well, my friend…you have outdone yourself. I admit to not being a fan of the traditional fruit cake either…but I love your version with the cranberries, sultanas and raisins… I’m printing this recipe as I’m typing.. I can’t wait to give it a try.. Thank you so much for sharing this with all of us.. Happy Fiesta Friday!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Leftovers Sandwich | Fiesta Friday #44 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Pingback: How to feed a vegetarian dinner guest.. | foodbod

Let me know what you think..

