Super simple fast flatbreads..

IMG_5324.JPGI love Masterchef Australia; for some reason I watch the series religiously whereas I don’t watch the UK version at all!

One of the judges is a food critic called Matt Preston and he also gets involved in the master classes and shares lots of ‘cheat’ recipes; the first time I came across banana ice cream was from watching one of Matt Preston’s cheats.

Last week this really grabbed my attention: the simplest, fastest flat bread recipe ever! I’ve used this method twice now and it doesn’t fail!

IMG_5312.JPGJust mix 1 cup of natural yogurt with 2 cups self raising flour (basically any measurements as long as the flour is double the yogurt);
mix well – probably easiest in a food mixer;
separate the dough into balls and roll flat;
cook on very hot griddle/tawa without any oil.
Turn over when you see brown spots forming and cook the other side – et voila! Done!

IMG_5322.JPGI made these again at the weekend:
I used a thinner, 0% natural yoghurt (I used Greek yoghurt previously) and it was easier to mix;
this time I rolled them a bit thinner and made the rounds a bit smaller;
I heated the tawa over my medium gas ring instead of the biggest hottest ring so that they cooked a bit slower;
They puffed up more and cooked through better;
I also added some spices:
1tsp Coriander
1tsp Cumin
1tsp Nigella seeds
1tsp Aleppo chilli flakes
1tsp Garlic granules

YUM!!!!

I will of course now be working on a gluten free version – you know me!

IMG_5323.JPG

31 thoughts on “Super simple fast flatbreads..

  1. Karinna

    They look so tempting! Feels like ages since I’ve made flatbreads. Will definitely be trying this method. Love the nigella seeds and other flavours in there 🙂 I’ve never watched any of Masterchef Australia, keep up with the British versions though, such easy watching after a long day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. The Kitchen Bridge

    Elan–Great little recipe. I’m surprised he didn’t ask that the dough rest for 20 to 30 minutes before rolling to help the gluten soften. That you added all the goodies just makes them taste even better. Clever you.

    Have a superb rest of your week.

    ~Janet @ The Kitchen Bridge

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

