Marinated cauliflower ‘nirvana’ for Fiesta Friday #23

20140704-141344-51224159.jpgNirvana because it’s pure heaven on a plate! Well, that’s what I think anyway.

20140704-141608-51368701.jpgSo for this weeks Fiesta Friday blog party, I bring you my taste of heaven; I hope you will join me, and this week’s wonderful co hosts, Margy from La Petite Casserole and Sylvia from Superfoodista, and enjoy the fun πŸ™‚

Back to my dish, one of my absolutely favourite things to eat…

It’s derived from some of my past dishes my roasted chickpeas and potatoes dish and my cauliflower and chickpea magic.

Ingredients
1 cauliflower
3-5 lemons
16 cloves garlic, peeled
150ml olive oil
1.5 tsp soft light brown sugar
3 tsp mayonnaise
1 tsp Harissa paste
1 tbsp tomato purΓ©e
Salt and pepper

Separate the cauliflower florets and cut them into similar sized pieces.

Mix all of the other ingredients together in a large oven proof dish, I use a large Pyrex dish that I can put into the oven, then add the cauliflower florets and mix it all together well.

Put a lid on it and put it in the fridge for 24 hours.

The next day, preheat the oven to 200C fan.. Cover the dish with foil and cook for 45 then remove the foil and cook until the cauliflower is roasted, with some crunchy edges and cooked through.

Eat on it’s own straight from the pan…or with salad leaves or as a side dish with whatever you’re eating.

20140704-142046-51646492.jpg

20140704-142056-51656702.jpgEven better topped with pine nuts..

20140704-142142-51702722.jpgWith the leftovers (I forced myself NOT to eat the whole lot in one go!) try throwing it in your blender with all of the remaining marinade and some tahini and create a gorgeous dip.

20140704-142226-51746065.jpg

20140704-142225-51745415.jpg
I hope you like it!

Have a wonderful weekend and a fab 4th July to all of my US friends πŸ™‚ xx

78 thoughts on “Marinated cauliflower ‘nirvana’ for Fiesta Friday #23

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #23|Happy 4th of July! | The Novice Gardener

  2. Sue

    Double yum! This is EXACTLY the food I really pig out on . . . savory mushy delicious spreads/dips, etc. Please keep up with the recipes! I am making right now an eggplant based bowl of mushy deliciousness based on one of your recipes for baba . . . but adding some roasted red and yellow peppers.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jhuls

    I’ve been thinking to make your roasted chickpeas, Elaine. I also saw it on Selma’s blog. I have my chickpeas ready, but I want to know if Sriracha would work instead of harissa paste? πŸ™‚

    And this indeed nirvana on a plate. πŸ™‚ Happy FF23!

    Like

    Reply
  4. M-R

    My little old gas oven just couldn’t get it right, dullink; sat there determinedly limp and never developed scorched edges. Then suddenly turned into a burnt mess. Sighh … I have ordered a thermal cooker, btw – as the solution for the increased gas prices. πŸ™‚ X !

    Like

    Reply
      1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

        If you look at my posts from a couple of days ago (look for the one tiled ‘Introducing….me…) you’ll see the artists details, it’s lovely isn’t it??

        Like

  5. chefjulianna

    Hi Elaine! Well, too bad that WP doesn’t have live voice yet, because all you would hear from me right now is Mmmm, yum, mmm, yum! This just looks too wonderful for words! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
  6. Sylvia @superfoodista.com

    Oh yum Elaine, how delicious is this creation! Love the touch with the harissa paste! Thanks for bringing this to the Fiesta, I am sure it was a success! Hope you had fun partying too! It was great to see you, big hug, Sylvia

    Like

    Reply
  7. Pingback: New marinated vegetables = new fabulous dip | foodbod

  8. Pingback: Top posts of the year…so much lovely food!!!! | foodbod

  9. Pingback: For the love of cauliflower… | foodbod

  10. Pingback: Roasted radishes, ras el hanout mushrooms, za’atar aubergines & tahini drizzle.. | foodbod

  11. Pingback: It’s all about you: fellow bloggers’ recipes I’ve been making recently… | foodbod

  12. Michelle

    Hi there, I am hoping to make the marinated roast cauliflower. Just a question, the 16 cloves of garlic do you leave them whole or do you crush them? Thanks michelle x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Cauliflower Nirvana | Fly 'n Cook

  14. Pingback: Chickpeas anyone?Β  | foodbod

  15. Pingback: Cauliflower and chickpeas ❀ | foodbod

  16. Pingback: March – Roasted Cauliflower with Potatoes and Chickpeas – spades, spatulas & spoons

Let me know what you think..

