Why we blog… Fae’s Twist and Tango

20140225-105018.jpg
Introducing Fae’s Twist and Tango, a wonderful cooking blog from another lovely lady with recipes and stories that will not fail to inspire you. Do pop over and have a good look around..

20140225-105328.jpg
How long have you had your blog?

I started Fae’s Twist & Tango on May 5, 2012.

What was your reason for starting it?

After working for over 25 years of 24/7 jet-set, soul and energy-draining jobs, which kept me single for 20 years, I opted for an early retirement. Since my mother had not documented any of her praised recipes, from what was retained in my memory, I wanted to document them. That is when an idea about a publishing possibility was inspired. Discussing my idea with my nephew, he guided me to more initially realistic blogging.

What is your constant inspiration?

After beginning to blog, I noticed there was so much ingenuity out there, which opened my eyes and figured that I needed to learn a lot. My desire to document the recipes in place is still intact. However, I learned that the level of what is developing in the world in relation to culinary presentation is far beyond what I was familiar with.

How would you describe your blog?

My blog is not only about recipes. The entire purpose was to tell a story which lead to the recipe that inspired the memories, or its cultural aspects. Proud of being a world citizen, I also wanted to include travel experiences as part of the whole picture.

Where does your blog name come from?

Almost all recipes are already innovated by someone in the world. Without jeopardizing their authenticity, I enjoy adding a little of my flair and ‘twist’, more adaptable to what is available, with a taste of the contemporary vogue.
As for the ‘tango’… I passionately danced tango for years… when I used the word ‘twist’, I had to use the word ‘tango’. πŸ˜€

What are your longer term aims for your blog?

As many of the bloggers do, I put a lot of hours, ‘a labor of love’ into my blogging. Although it is not all about money, really, I would like to ride the wave and see how far I can take this with my accomplishments. I enjoy riding the wave of technology changes (within limits) and being part of new trends. I have learned, to make it into a successful revenue earning site, I must have something to market. Writing alone does not do it… if not a cookbook, hopefully, to market an e-cookbook or two? Can one dream?

Any final words for my readers?

Before beginning my blogging, I had heard that people blog, but I had absolutely no clue what blogging really was. I did not even know that people ‘liked’ or commented about your material. To my pleasant surprise, I discovered that not only was this documentation of one’s creations/thoughts/information, but I was becoming a part of the world community, which has the same goals and appreciation, interacting with people whom I would not otherwise have met. For that, I am more than grateful and it has further enhanced my life. I am certainly enjoying the ride!

93 thoughts on “Why we blog… Fae’s Twist and Tango

  1. Jhuls

    One of my favorite blogs! πŸ˜€ And I always love that smile, Fae.
    Thank you for sharing this, Elaine, and for bringing more inspiration to other bloggers through this awesome idea of yours. πŸ˜‰ xx

    Like

    Reply
  2. indusinternationalkitchen

    Fae, your blog is phenomenal and all your posts just amazing! And best thing about Fae is that she always finds time to come around and encourage new bloggers like myself. Cheers to both Fae and to Elaine again for doing this series! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  3. Fae's Twist & Tango

    Reblogged this on Fae's Twist & Tango and commented:
    I am grateful and honored that Elaine of Foodbod included me in her interviews, featuring bloggers in the β€œWhy we blog…” series.
    I am following the series and have met, enjoyed, and learned about fabulous new and experienced bloggers.
    Foodbod presents its readers with foods which nurture both mind and body. All Elaine’s recipes are truly of β€˜Mother Earth’. Please visit Elaine, if for no other reason than to get to know this beautiful, kind person. Elaine’s attributes come across in her writings and in her interview series.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Amanda

    What a great interview! Fae’s blog is so great she’s a constant resource and it was nice to get to know the intrepid woman behind the blog just a little bit better. Great questions, great answers!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Fig & Quince

    Hello Elaine! What a wonderful introduction to you and your blog. Love the interview with Fae – a woman of intrigue and passion I’ve relished getting to know via blogging. And how cute does she look in this photo? So cute!

    Great post!

    Like

    Reply
  6. The Dorky Missus

    I love Fae’s Twist and Tango! Fae has such a warm tone to her writing; her words make the reader feel like they’ve been invited into her home to enjoy a hot cuppa and delicious delights (Window Cookies perhaps) as she regales you with her world experiences. Beautiful writing, Fae, and many gracious thanks for encouraging beginning bloggers everywhere!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Sylvia @superfoodista.com

    Thanks Elaine to share Fae’s story! πŸ˜‰ I absolutely love this classy lady and her wonderful blog, and I love how she captured the definition of “citizen of a world” – something I can so much relate too! πŸ˜‰ I also love how you brought together the blogging community Fae with many of your initiatives. I am really glad I have met both of you through blogging! big hugs, Sylvia

    Like

    Reply
    1. Fae's Twist & Tango

      Darling Sylvia, You are a precious world citizen, who actually has it in your blood. With your blog, you are educating us and showing us how healthy food can be so colorful and fun. I love you for the value you are adding to the world. Hugs,

      Like

      Reply
  8. theseasonedtraveler

    Fae, you are a constant inspiration and getting to know you in this community has been one of the highlights of my blogging experience. Thanks for sharing more here about your focus on story-telling and the reasons behind Twist & Tango. We are missing you!

    Like

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

