Nuggets of sweet potato heaven ๐ŸŒŸ pure joy on a plate ๐Ÿ˜€

20140117-141953.jpg

Today I had a friend over for lunch and I decided to revisit my sweet potato patties – as you may remember, the last attempt was a bit more splat than pattie!! The flavours were lovely though and it didn’t stop me eating the whole plate of them in one go!

I followed the same lines again with the mix but this time refrigerated it for longer before attempting to shape it or work with it, and added some milled, soaked nuts that I had leftover from earlier in the week. This created a gorgeous dairy free, gluten free, sugar free, healthy, tasty lunch, full of flavour and goodness and plant proteins, just lovely!!!!

I mixed together:
2 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp fresh coriander/cilantro leaf, finely chopped
4 tbsp quinoa flour
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp paprika
1 red chili, de-seeded and finely sliced
A pile of milled pistachios, walnuts and pecans

20140117-142328.jpg

20140117-142334.jpg

20140117-142346.jpg

20140117-142350.jpg
The mixture is so nice you can literally eat it as a mash ๐Ÿ˜€

Today, I made myself stop eating it all and baked it in muffin cases for a defined shape and oven baked goodness for about half an hour at 180C fan….and OMG!!!! Am I allowed to say: I love my own food!!!!!

20140117-142358.jpg

20140117-142404.jpg

20140117-142409.jpg

20140117-142414.jpg

20140117-142422.jpg
Eaten with a salad of green leaves and topped with tahini sauce this could be very close to my idea of HEAVEN!!!

20140117-142427.jpg

20140117-142437.jpg
When my friend left there was still a couple left…not anymore!! Topped with a spoonful of tahini sauce they went in a flash..as flash of pure joy!!!

20140117-142445.jpg

20140117-142450.jpg

51 thoughts on “Nuggets of sweet potato heaven ๐ŸŒŸ pure joy on a plate ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. Selma's Table

    Ooh Elaine – love this – must have been gorgeous with the tahini sauce. And what a great idea for a canapรฉ too in those mini muffin pans. Baking them in the liners is genius too! Your photos look fantastic!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Selma, I must thank you – I hadn’t thought of using these as a canapรฉ and I’m currently planning a big birthday event for my Mum later in the year. These are going on the menu! Great finger food โ˜บ๏ธ thank you for the idea ๐Ÿ‘

      Like

      Reply
      1. Selma's Table

        We are quite the team Ms Foodbod xx I used to do a fair bit of catering of cocktail parties so it is second nature for me to think about miniatures! Also, if I am having people round for dinner, I tend to skip the first course and serve up 2 or 3 canapรฉ style dishes instead. Your recipe is perfect for finger food – you could stamp out little rounds of pitta bread, toast in the oven and serve the nuggets on them maybe with a little slice of cucumber and the tahini sauce drizzle…

        Like

      2. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

        Oh wow! That sounds like a fab idea!!! I’ll be noting that for sure!! I may be consulting you more about this over the next six months! Maybe we need a trip to Borough Market…..? ๐Ÿ˜ณ

        Like

  2. Fae's Twist & Tango

    -Absolutely clever and delicious nuggets. I love sweet potatoes but don’t have any recipe in my repertoire. I shall give this a try. ๐Ÿ˜›
    -Two cents worth: You may also want to tag/categorize your recipes in main dishes, side dishes, soups etc. It may help your traffic through ‘Reader’.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Fae's Twist & Tango

        ‘Category’ is for within your blog (add as many as you like that makes sense), whereas, ‘Tag’ is for WordPress/internet search engines. Put yourself in the place of a person who is using WordPress or major search-engines to look for a recipe. For example, I would search for (tags) ‘soups’ rather than ‘lunch’ or ‘dinner’. Having said that, i.e. ‘breakfast’, ‘appetizers’ are popular searches. I’m not certain, but have heard, if you put more than 10~12 tags, system only takes first 10~12 or kicks-out the post completely. It is tricky. Go to ‘Reader’ and enter some of your tags and see what you see and get a feel for popular ones you definitely want to be part of.

        Like

      2. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

        I’ve been doing this today and now realise that the tags present themselves alphabetically so if only the top 10-12 are picked up you have to be really careful to make sure that ‘recipe’ is in that top list!

        Like

  3. Namrata

    Wow Elaine… i just love this idea! you’ve made them all cute and tempting and am sure delicious. The pictures are good too.. clear and crisp, just like those nuggets.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Pimp Your Veg part 5: vegetable patties/fritters/tikkis/burgers/cakes… | foodbod

Let me know what you think..

