Pea and rocket zaalouk…πŸ˜ƒ

20140115-185835.jpg

I love zaalouk, I’ve made it several times before and just the smell of it cooking is wonderful. I made it again this week but I didn’t have any flat leaf parsley….so, I added rocket to it instead….and I just couldn’t must up the enthusiasm to peel and deseed tomatoes on this occasion, so I added a couple of tablespoons of tomato purΓ©e…and as this was going to be my dinner, this and this alone, I wanted to add a bit more of something to it so threw in some peas…and it was lovely!

This is a whole new found confidence in cooking that I have only gained in the last year, that has increased a hundredfold since starting my blog and being inspired daily by all of your posts ☺️ It’s great fun, and ‘mostly’ successful!!

I highly recommended that you try out the original recipe, and once you’ve fallen in love with it, have a play…

“Zaalouk is a delicious cooked salad made with eggplant (aubergines), tomatoes, garlic, olive oil and spices. It’s a common side dish to many meals, and is usually served as a dip with crusty bread. Use fresh, ripe tomatoes for the best results. If you like, drizzle a little extra olive oil on the salad when serving.

Variations: A small wedge of fresh lemon added to the salad while it’s reducing adds a nice tangy nuance. A little chili oil heats it up for spicy food lovers.

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant, peeled and chopped*
4 large tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped
3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped or pressed
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro and parsley, mixed
1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
1/4 cup olive oil
1/3 cup water
small wedge of lemon (optional)

Preparation:

*Rather than peeling and chopping the eggplant, you might prefer to roast it. Slice the eggplant lengthwise and place it skin-side-up under a broiler. Leave it to roast for about 15 minutes, or until the skin is scorched and and the eggplant is very tender. Scoop out the roasted eggplant from the skin, puree it with a vegetable masher, and proceed with the recipe.

To Make the Zaalouk:

Mix all ingredients in a large, deep skillet or pot. Cover and simmer over medium to medium-high heat for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Adjust the heat if necessary to avoid burning the zaalouk.

Use a spoon or potato masher to crush and blend the tomatoes and eggplant. If you like, a small wedge of lemon can be added to the pan at this time. Continue simmering, uncovered, for 10 minutes or until the liquids are reduced and the zaalouk can be stirred into a heap in the center of the pan.

Serve warm or cold with crusty bread.”

Initially, I followed the recipe as above..

20140115-185852.jpg

20140115-185859.jpg

20140115-185908.jpg

20140115-185915.jpg
Until I started adding rocket..

20140115-185929.jpg

20140115-185948.jpg
and then peas..

20140115-185955.jpg

20140115-190005.jpg
Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!

20140115-190011.jpg
And I enjoyed the leftovers the next day with added quinoa mixed in..

20140115-190021.jpg

Follow foodbod on Facebook for more tips and news and chat 😍

23 thoughts on “Pea and rocket zaalouk…πŸ˜ƒ

  1. celestedimilla

    I know what you mean about how blogging gives you a new confidence in cooking – I’m feeling that too! Everyone in the blogging world is so supportive and encouraging. What’s more, it’s expanding my food knowledge. For example, I’ve never heard of zaalouk. It sounds like something from Star Trek, but it looks delish. Celeste πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. Elaine @ foodbod Post author

      Very true, it could so be a Star Trek character!!! I just keep loving blogworld more and more, what did I ever do without it?? X (by the way I had 4 English cocker spaniels all named after Star Trek characters: Nog, Kes, Dax and Odo!!)

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sophie33

    This strange name of a dish sounds something that I have eaten often before without knowing it! I love aubergines! In Summer, I grow them myself! MMMMMM! Mixed in with quinoa & peas, sounds really yum yum yummmm! πŸ™‚ x

    Like

    Reply

Let me know what you think..

